top of page

My Journey of a thousand miles... literally!






“Perhaps we are all immigrants trading one home for another, first we leave the womb for air the the suburbs for the filthy city in search for a better life. Some of us just happen to leave entire countries.” - Rupi Kaur



Before writing this blog I went through all the stages of blogphobia, maybe we can call it that – my own word and definition – the fear of writing your first blog.

I had mixed emotions, a bit of euphoria, confusion, fear. Mostly fear. Fear of what people will say- naysayers to be specific. I kept asking myself what people will say after reading my blog, that’s if they even read or notice my blog.


Ultimately I just decided to be myself, to write my story just like back in the day, the High School days when I’d scribble in my diaries. When I’d write about how my day was. A typical diary entry would go like --- Dear Diary, today I said hi to my crush. OMG he smiled back. *blush face* LOL. Yep those days.


Welcome to my firs blog ya’ll. My name is Vhenekai Masimo aka Vee. I was born in the year 1993 in Harare Zimbabwe and I reside in Johannesburg South Africa.

The idea behind my blog – Chase your dreams… immigrant flourish is to share my personal journey from playing in the dusty streets of my hometown Masvingo to moving to the big city of Johannesburg.


Sharing the victories and challenges I’ve faced in the pursuit of a better life which I hope someone will draw strength from. I hope you find a home on my blog and connect with fellow immigrants and share our life experiences living in a foreign land.


Eleven years ago my mother made the life changing decision of having us move here with her. I was depressed, terrified mainly because of all the horrific violent crimes I would read about and I’d hear on the news. All this didn’t matter because the economic situation in Zimbabwe was now in a dire state and deteriorating rapidly.


To be honest I didn’t want to move. When I look back all the anxiety came from a place of distress. It was the fear of growth. That is when the term ‘growth is never comfortable’ really made sense . I was only in high school. The dreadful thought of starting all over again making new friends made me panic even more. This was going to be the longest journey literally my journey of a thousand miles which had to start with a single step, the only step. Moving to a foreign land.

Step by step I’ve survived and eleven years later I’ve gathered the courage to share my journey with you. Please do feel at home.



bottom of page