top of page

All that I am and hope to be, I owe it to myself!


It’s been one different year, very different. 2020's trials and tribulations welcomed me to a new world of adulthood which I’m not so sure I was ready for but here I am. God’s Grace has sustained me through it all and I beyond am grateful.


My blog this month was inspired by the chain of events which transpired over the past 11 months. So here I am sitting in my room , in front of me, my blue 2020 journal. Staring at me, my 2020 goals. The shock on my face was quite visible. I just could not believe I was the one who set those goals exactly 11 months ago, I break out into the most hilarious nervous laugh 😂. Well it was me, Vhenekai.


We plan ,yes but I would like to agree with Lynns Tokke and Sweet Aroma's song famous gospel song 'Jehovah has the final say'. He decides and I have to come to appreciate that because only He knows how He designed our destinies, He paved the way. I’ve learnt to be grateful even for the things I used to take for granted but above all I’ve learnt that only God provides.


I wrote in one of my blogs that I decided to study Law about 2 years back. Honestly I didn’t think it was going to be that hectic financially because I thought I had it all figured out. Guess what? Life happened. My sister helped me fund part of my fees . Thanks sis this degree is for you ❤️. She believes in me 100% and when I feel like giving up on my education I just think of her. She hypes me up man 🙆🏾‍♀️🤣.


This journey of flourishing into a lawyer isn’t easy but I’ve come to realize that no one owes me anything. I owe it myself to study even when I feel sleepy, to hustle hard so I can fund my own education, to complete my degree. Yes, naysayers will always be there I mean wouldn’t life be boring without them?


I was sitting in my mentor’s office the other day, very successful and ambitious lady. I don’t think she knows that she’s my mentor yet. She inspires me.


She looked at me straight in the eye and said ‘Vee don’t give up on yourself or your education, you’ve started already.’ These words keep echoing in my heart each morning I wake up. They gave me hope. I’ll say it today, I’m a strong woman, I can accomplish anything I put my mind to. Above all I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength and so can you.


Ilwa Ntombo!!!


bottom of page