top of page

The Myth Of Doing It All!


Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg


I’ve met and I know a lot of avid readers. Those who read 10-20 books at a time and those who take weeks to finish a book, like myself. When I started reading I wanted to be the ’10 to 20 book at a time reader ’and put myself under a lot of pressure. You know what brought me back to reality? A pinch.

Yes, I had to pinch myself and silently whispered these 5 words ‘’ No Vee that’s not you.” I’m an avid reader as well and so far I’ve read quite a number of books. When I open a book I read to learn something and to understand. That’s why whilst reading a chapter in Sheryl Sandberg’s book LEAN IN I experienced an epiphany and realized that I wasn’t just pressurizing myself when it came to my much enjoyed hobby -reading, but in almost everything I embarked on executing in my life. So why so much pressure girly? The answer – because I thought I could do it all.


Let me open up a little to you guys. I am a recovering perfectionist yáll! My biggest weakness which I always thought was my biggest strength is trying to DO IT ALL.


Practically speaking you can’t do it all or have it all in life. I’ve always been the kind of person who tried to juggle work, business, family and I’d feel a wave of guilt if I ‘flopped’ in one area. In Vhenekai’s world everything had to balance -still has to, but now I am learning to accept that I’m only human and I’ll definitely flop in some areas.

I am on a journey of being an aspiring good enoughist…

Don’t sweat it Sis, you are doing just fine. Doing it all is definitely a myth – a belief that has been forced on us by society yet, sadly very false and unrealistic.

So, drop the guilt trip and DO YOU BOO!

bottom of page