top of page

A love affair with myself...


Blog Post; A love affair with myself

In my small life or should I say ‘love life’, I’ve had my own beautiful and not so beautiful memories .

Finding love in a foreign land isn’t so easy. It’s a full time job . One that requires a thick skin around your heart 🙈. You think when you fall in love with someone from the same country as you then you’ll get married, have kids and be happy but hey it’s not even like that. I can write a book on that LoL but that’s a story for another day.

I’ve heard people say relationships are hard work, I’ve said that myself a billion times and truth is they are. I have an amazing partner who makes it seem easy but relationships require time, effort, compromises,learning each other’s different cultures; well in my case and above all; patience.

But what if one day you just wake up and decide to put all that effort into loving yourself? A question I had to ask myself after I went through a very nasty break up a few years back and recently when I had a great epiphany reading a book by Robin Sharma; The 5AM Club, one of my best reads by the way.

Funny how this pandemic has allowed us to spend more time with ourselves during the lockdown and quarantine period. I discovered new things about myself that I didn’t even know I was capable of doing like starting this very same blog. I’ve always been too busy for myself, too busy doubting myself but God has a way of revealing just how much love he has instilled in us. Enough to love ourselves and the next person not just the next person but the entire world.

I danced with myself, talked to myself, partied by myself: I’m not a party person by the way but I managed to jam to a few songs which felt amazing. I got to fall in love with myself all over again and man it feels good.

I got a taste of this love affair and I must say I’m in it for the long haul. Try it !!

bottom of page