top of page

Vhenekai- meaning Light


My initial plan when I started my blog was to update it every week. Well, part of my writing journey has brought quite a shocking revelation - writing a blog isn’t about updating every week it’s about drawing inspiration, usually from day to day events and putting them on paper in a creative and humorous way- from my perspective.

Here I am sitting on my desk, pen and journal in hand, my laptop staring at me with a blank Word document, pondering on my next topic and after about an hour or so of writing blog topics and scratching them out I decided I was going to name this week’s blog, Vhenekai. Yes, my name. Trust me I’m not a narcissist but I sure do love my name, duh who wouldn’t? LOL.


Vhenekai is a Shona name meaning to supply with light or to give light. See why I love my name...


The day I was born I was told, I brought so much joy and light into my parent’s lives, my family too. Being the first born daughter you can only imagine how happy everyone was. I say this with so much humility, trust me. I’m glad my aunt decided to give me this beautiful name, my only duty over the past 27 years was to do my best to live up to my name, It hasn’t been that hard.


The main reason I decided to write this blog was to sprinkle a little light into someone’s life. After all it’s my birthday month. Maybe your journey is starting to take a toll on you given the pandemic we are faced with. It’s been a bumpy ride the past three months and we all are trying to figure out everything, finances, job security, staying in touch with family and friends. One thing I can assure you is there is ‘light’ at the end of the tunnel; yes I’m talking about the Corona Virus tunnel.


1 John 1:5 – This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in Him there is no darkness at all. This lockdown has allowed me to reflect on the word of God. As a Christian this is where I turn to in times of distress. We sometimes get so caught up in the hustling and bustling of city life so much that we forget the main source of our hope and strength- The Word.


Don’t give up; don’t throw in the towel just yet. This field seems like an endless one but the grass is actually greener on the other side. Make sure you reach that side.

Lots of Love- Vhenekai .

bottom of page